The Bone Shadows

Illustration from Werewolf: The Forsaken, Second Edition

The Bone Shadows (First Tongue: Hirfathra Hissu)

The Bone Shadow is a hermit and shaman, a hunter of things that cannot be slain with mere fang and claw alone. They trap ghosts and bind spirits, they cast out angels and speak the language of the dead. They have a reputation for strangeness, but it’s a product of their greater understanding of Shadow. Spirits and other ephemeral beings obey bizarre laws and compulsions, and to the Bone Shadows these things are natural, instinctive.

Taboos have power, in the keeping and the breaking, and the Bone Shadows know how to call on that power. While Ithaeur of all tribes can command and use spirits, the Bone Shadows do more than command. They curate, managing the boundary of worlds in the name of Father Wolf, seeking to understand the secrets beyond the visible in the name of their tribal totem. They seek out that which is unknown, study and catalogue and bind it away or cast it out.

Robert McCammon, “The Wolf’s Hour”

Robert McCammon, “The Wolf’s Hour”, 1989, Grafton Books

This novel was a dramatic departure for horror writer McCammon. A blend of WWII espionage thriller and werewolf-powered dark fantasy, the story revolves around Russian-born, British Secret Service operative Michael Gallatin, who just happens to be a werewolf. Highly principled and deeply introspective, Gallatin is a tormented soul struggling to understand who (or what) he is. Intricately plotted and meticulously described, this suspense thriller offers up a unique take on the werewolf mythos.

Werewolf

Werewolf by JediArtTrick, DeviantArt

“I went home and tried to sleep, but couldn’t, so I stared up at the moon, watching how it’s trailing edge faded into darkness, so close to being full, but not quite there. A pregnant moon, Grandma called it. Full almost to bursting, and ready to give birth to something unthinkable.”
― Neal Shusterman, Red Rider’s Hood

The House of Hammer

The House of Hammer, Issue 10, “The Curse of the Werewolf” Pages 37-38

“The Curse of the Werewolf” is a 1961 British horror film based on the novel “The Werewolf of Paris” by Guy Endore. The film was made by the British company Hammer Film Productions and was shot at Bray Studios. The leading part of the werewolf was Oliver Reed’s first starring role in a film. The film was heavily censored in the United Kingdom on its initial release and was first shown on the BBC in a restored version thirty-two years later in 1993.

The film was adapted into a 15-page comic strip for the January 1978 issue of the magazine “The House of Hammer” (volume 1, # 10, published by General Book Distribution). It was drawn by John Bolton from a script by Stephen Moore. The cover of the issue featured a painting by Brian Lewis as Leon in human and werewolf forms.

 

Echo and the Bunnymen, “The Killing Moon”

“The Killing Moon” is a song by the band Echo & the Bunnymen. It was released on 20 January 1984 as the lead single from their 1984 album, Ocean Rain. It is one of the band’s highest-charting hits, reaching number nine in the UK Singles Chart, and often cited as the band’s greatest song.

“The Killing Moon” was featured in the original theatrical version of the opening sequence of the cult film “Donnie Darko” and it was on the “Blood & Chocolate” werewolf film soundtrack covered by The Distants. However, in the director’s cut version of the film, the song is replaced by INXS’s “Never Tear Us Apart”.[6]

Werewolf Cop

Werewolf Cop by Andrew Klavan, 2015

From Edgar Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Andrew Klavan, a supernatural thriller about a good cop in the grips of an evil curse. In the tradition of Dexter and The Shield, the first in a riveting trilogy about a crime-fighter on a quest to control the beast within.

Zach Adams is one of the best detectives in the country. Nicknamed Cowboy, he’s a soft-spoken homicide detective from Houston known for his integrity and courage under fire. He serves on a federal task force that has a single mission: to hunt down Dominic Abend, a European gangster who has taken over the American underworld.

Newcastle Werewolf Blood Red Ale

Newcastle Werewolf Blood Red Ale Returns to Market

Newcastle is resurrecting its popular Werewolf Blood-Red Ale, which was the top-selling imported limited edition in 2013.

Like the nocturnal man-beast that serves as its namesake, Newcastle Werewolf has something of a split personality. Tear into a bottle or a pint and it mysteriously transforms – starting out smooth and mellow, then transforming to a bitter bite that will leave beer lovers howling for more.

Newcastle Werewolf features a seasonally advantageous palate – sweet berry fruit with roasted caramel notes up front followed by a bite from Fuggle and Golding hops at the finish. It is brewed with rye malts, making it naturally blood-red in color, and is 4.5 percent alcohol by volume with 23.4 International Bittering Units.

Bernie Wrightson

Bernie Wrightson, Illustrations for “Cycle of the Werewolf: 1983

“Cycle of the Werewolf” is a short horror novel by Stephen King, each cahpter being a short story unto itself, featuring illustrations by comic book artist Bernie Wrightson. It tells the story of a werewolf haunting a small town as the moon turns full once every month. It was published as a limited edition hardcover in 1983 by Land of Enchantment, and in 1985 as a mass-market trade paperback by Signet.

The book is dedicated to the author Davis Grubb: “In memory of Davis Grubb, and all the voices of Glory.”

“Werewolves and Shapeshifters”

, Encounters with the Beast Within”- An anthology of werewolf stories published by Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers (September 22, 2010)

John Skipp is a New York Times bestselling author and editor. He is recognized as splatterpunk’s founding father and the elder statesman of the genre. He is the author of “Jake’s Wake” and “The Long Last Call”.

This definitive collection contains thirty-two classic and new stories, written by favorites of the genre including George R.R. Martin, Charlaine Harris, Chuck Palahniuk, Neil Gaiman, H.P. Lovecraft, Joe R. Lansdale, Angela Carter, David J. Schow, Kathe Koja, Bentley Little, and more. Skipp provides fascinating insight and details, through two nonfiction essays, into the history and presence of shape shifting in popular culture.  Resources at the end of the book include lists of the genre’s best long-form fiction, as well as movies, websites, and writers. A definitive book for the werewolf fan.